Resources: chips

How chip power drives rack density and cooling

The power one accelerator draws sets how many fit in a rack, how much power the rack needs and whether air can still cool it. This page reads every figure from a record in the IT equipment library, with the vendor's own conditions. Where a vendor does not state a figure, we say so.

Chip power, system power and rack power are different measures. They are not added up or compared across vendors here, and performance claims are not compared.

From chip power to rack power

Stated accelerator power now runs from a few hundred watts for PCIe cards to well over a kilowatt for module-based GPUs. NVIDIA lists the H100 and H200 SXM at up to 700 W TDP, configurable (NVIDIA (opens in a new tab)). AMD lists 1,000 W typical board power for the MI350X and 1,400 W for the MI355X (AMD (opens in a new tab)). Lenovo documents B200 GPUs as 1,000 W SXM6 parts in its SR680a V3 (Lenovo (opens in a new tab)). Microsoft gives Maia 200 a 750 W SoC TDP (Microsoft (opens in a new tab)). PCIe cards sit lower: 300 W for the Tenstorrent Blackhole p150b and 250 W for the Cambricon MLU370-X8.

Grouping more accelerators per rack multiplies this. An eight-GPU DGX B200 uses about 14.3 kW and is air cooled (NVIDIA (opens in a new tab)). A 72-GPU GB200 NVL72 rack draws approximately 120 kW and the GB300 NVL72 up to 142 kW (NVIDIA (opens in a new tab)). NVIDIA's DSX facility reference design plans compute cabinets at 198 to 330 kW, from MGX Gen 1.1 to Vera Rubin NVL72 (NVIDIA DSX (opens in a new tab)).

Not every AI rack is that dense. SambaNova states 10 kW typical and 16.4 kW maximum for an air-cooled SambaRack SN40-16 and a 20 kW average for the SambaRack SN50 (SambaNova (opens in a new tab)). A Cerebras Wafer-Scale Cluster rack is provisioned at 34 kW (Cerebras (opens in a new tab)).

What it does to cooling

At rack scale the vendors move heat to liquid. NVIDIA describes the GB300 NVL72 as a liquid-cooled rack, and the GB200 NVL72 as hybrid, with direct liquid cooling plus air for the remaining load (NVIDIA reference architecture (opens in a new tab)). AMD lists direct liquid cooling for the MI455X (AMD (opens in a new tab)). Google says its liquid cooling runs at gigawatt scale and shows third-generation CDUs serving an Ironwood superpod (Google Cloud (opens in a new tab)).

The DSX reference design sizes the technology cooling loop for at least 1.5 L/min per kW (NVIDIA DSX (opens in a new tab)). As a worked example of that design rule, not a vendor figure, a 142 kW rack would need about 213 L/min.

Some designs bring liquid to the chip without facility water at the rack. Meta's MTIA 400 rack design uses air-assisted liquid cooling so it can be deployed quickly in existing halls, and Meta says MTIA 400 also supports facility liquid cooling (Meta (opens in a new tab)). Microsoft cools Maia 200 with a second-generation closed-loop heat exchanger unit (Microsoft (opens in a new tab)). Cerebras says the CS-3 can use an external liquid loop or liquid-to-air cooling (Cerebras (opens in a new tab)). Air still serves PCIe cards and lower-density inference racks, such as the SambaNova and Tenstorrent products above.

To turn a rack figure into electrical and cooling loads, use the engineering pack. For cooling equipment, see CDUs and technology guides.

Power delivery inside the rack

NVIDIA plans its Kyber rack generation for 576 Rubin Ultra GPUs by 2027, with 800 V DC power delivery and liquid cooling. It says 800 V DC carries over 150% more power through the same copper, removing the need for 200 kg copper busbars to feed a single rack, and moves in-rack components from 54 V DC to 800 V DC (NVIDIA (opens in a new tab)). In July 2026 the research firm SemiAnalysis reported Kyber NVL144 delayed to 2028, and NVIDIA replied that its roadmap is intact (CNBC (opens in a new tab)). Both are shown, and neither is confirmed here.

Memory and packaging

HBM sits in the accelerator package, so its power is part of board power and has no separate facility figure. The three HBM makers claim efficiency gains for HBM4: more than 40% over the previous generation from SK hynix (SK hynix (opens in a new tab)), 40% from Samsung (Samsung (opens in a new tab)), and more than 20% over its HBM3E from Micron (Micron (opens in a new tab)). These are vendor claims, not independently verified. TSMC plans 9.5-reticle CoWoS packages with 12 or more HBM stacks in volume production in 2027 (TSMC (opens in a new tab)). Larger packages put more silicon in one module, and the module's power is set by the chip product.

Products by segment

Each row links to its full record with conditions, sources and accessed dates. In-house hyperscaler chips link to the operator profile, because they are not sold as hardware. Suppliers are listed in the AI and data centre chips category.

GPU and accelerator makers

ProductPower as statedCoolingRack powerNext on the vendor roadmap
GB300 NVL72 rack
NVIDIA
Not statedLiquidup to 142 kW (Full rack power requirement)None announced in the sources checked
DSX reference design compute cabinet range (MGX Gen 1.1 to Vera Rubin NVL72)
NVIDIA
Not statedLiquid198 to 330 kW (Cabinet TDP range, MGX Gen 1.1 to Vera Rubin NVL72)None announced in the sources checked
DGX B200
NVIDIA
about 14.3 kW (DGX B200 system (8 GPUs), System power usage)
1,000 W (B200 GPU in Lenovo SR680a V3, SXM6 GPU rating as documented by Lenovo)
AirNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
Instinct MI355X
AMD
1,400 W (MI355X, Typical board power)Not statedNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
Instinct MI350X
AMD
1,000 W (MI350X, Typical board power)Not statedNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
DGX GB200 NVL72 rack
NVIDIA
Not statedLiquidapproximately 120 kW (Rack power consumption)None announced in the sources checked
H100 Tensor Core GPU (SXM and NVL)
NVIDIA
700 W (H100 SXM, Max TDP, configurable)
350 to 400 W (H100 NVL, Max TDP, configurable)
Not statedNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
H200 GPU (SXM and NVL)
NVIDIA
700 W (H200 SXM, Max TDP, configurable)
600 W (H200 NVL, Max TDP, configurable)
Not statedNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
Vera Rubin NVL72 rack
NVIDIA
Not statedNot statedNot stated2027: Kyber rack generation with 576 Rubin Ultra GPUs, 800 V DC power delivery and liquid cooling
Instinct MI455X and Helios rack
AMD
Not statedLiquidNot stated2028: MI600 Series GPUs and Helios 600 rack
Gaudi 3 AI accelerator OAM (HL-325L)
Intel
900 W (HL-325L, passive or liquid cooling, Total device power, technical paper of July 2025)
1,200 W (HL-325L, liquid cooling (earlier figure), Hot Chips 2024 presentation)
Air or liquidNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
CS-3 system (WSE-3)
Cerebras
23,000 W (CS-3 system, Peak system power)Liquid34 kW (Provisioned power per rack, Wafer-Scale Cluster example)None announced in the sources checked
SambaRack SN40-16 (SN40L RDU)
SambaNova
Not statedAir10 typical, 16.4 max kW (Inference power consumption per rack)None announced in the sources checked
SambaRack SN50 (SN50 RDU)
SambaNova
Not statedAir20 kW (Average power per rack)Second half of 2026: SN50 starts shipping to customers
Blackhole p150b PCIe card
Tenstorrent
300 W (p150b, Total board power)AirNot statedNone announced in the sources checked

Custom and hyperscaler silicon

ProductPower as statedCoolingRack powerNext on the vendor roadmap
Ironwood TPU (seventh generation)
Google
Not statedLiquidNot stated22 Apr 2026: Eighth-generation TPU 8t (training) and TPU 8i (inference) announced, available to Cloud customers soon
Trainium3 and Trn3 UltraServer
AWS
Not statedNot statedNot stated2 Dec 2025: Trainium4 to use NVIDIA NVLink Fusion (no date stated)
Inferentia2
AWS
Not statedNot statedNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
Maia 200
Microsoft
750 W (Maia 200 SoC, SoC TDP envelope)
700 W (Maia 100 (previous generation), Design TDP)
LiquidNot stated26 Jan 2026: Maia 200 announced
MTIA family (MTIA 200 to MTIA 500)
Meta
90 W (MTIA 200 (2024), TDP)LiquidNot stated2027: MTIA 500 mass deployment

Chinese AI chips

ProductPower as statedCoolingRack powerNext on the vendor roadmap
Ascend 950 series and Atlas SuperPoDs
Huawei
Not statedNot statedNot statedQ4 2028: Ascend 970
MLU370-X8 accelerator card
Cambricon
250 W (MLU370-X8, Maximum thermal power)AirNot statedNone announced in the sources checked

Memory (HBM)

ProductPower as statedCoolingRack powerNext on the vendor roadmap
SK hynix HBM4
SK hynix
Not statedNot statedNot stated12 Sep 2025: HBM4 development completed and mass production readied
Samsung HBM4
Samsung
Not statedNot statedNot stated12 Feb 2026: HBM4 mass production started and commercial shipments made
Micron HBM4
Micron
Not statedNot statedNot stated10 Jun 2025: HBM4 36 GB 12-high samples shipped to key customers. Ramp planned in calendar 2026

Foundry and packaging

ProductPower as statedCoolingRack powerNext on the vendor roadmap
CoWoS advanced packaging
TSMC
Not statedNot statedNot stated2028: A14 process enters production
Samsung Foundry SF2 (2 nm)
Samsung
Not statedNot statedNot stated2026: 2 nm expanded to HPC (plan stated in 2023)
Intel Foundry 18A
Intel
Not statedNot statedNot stated9 Oct 2025: Panther Lake on 18A to enter high-volume production at Intel's newest Arizona fab later in 2025

Networking and DPU silicon

ProductPower as statedCoolingRack powerNext on the vendor roadmap
Spectrum-4 SN5600
NVIDIA
940 W (SN5600 switch system, Typical power)AirNot statedNone announced in the sources checked
BlueField-3 DPU
NVIDIA
Not statedNot statedNot stated16 Mar 2026: BlueField-4 DPU announced as in full production with the Vera Rubin platform
Tomahawk 6 switch series
Broadcom
Not statedNot statedNot stated3 Jun 2025: Tomahawk 6 shipping

Gaps

Google, AWS and Huawei do not publish chip or rack power for the products listed, and Meta does not for MTIA 300 to 500. These fields show as not stated rather than estimated. Still in research:

  • AI storage systems (no vendor data sheet checked so far states system power with its configuration)
  • Rack power shelves, busbars and manifolds from rack integrators
  • Dell rack-scale GB200 and GB300 systems (IR7000 rack, XE9712)
  • Cisco Nexus 800G switches
  • Groq GroqCard and GroqRack power (product brief host did not respond when re-checked on 19 Oct 2026)
  • Hygon DCU accelerators (no vendor data sheet with power could be checked)
  • Per-GPU TDP for NVIDIA Blackwell and Rubin GPUs from an NVIDIA data sheet
  • Marvell custom AI products and networking silicon power

Updated 19 Oct 2026.

Sources