Market profile

Sweden

In Sweden Svenska kraftnät puts data centre electricity use at about 3 TWh today, with 2050 scenarios from 9 to 41 TWh. The Brookfield plan for Strängnäs, up to SEK 95 billion and 750 MW, faced an unresolved power supply question in March 2026.

Tracked project records
3
Policy records
0
Cloud regions
0
Last checked
19 Oct 2026

Projects in Sweden Policy timeline

Overview

In Borlänge, EcoDataCenter is building a campus on a former paper mill site with 250 MW at launch and potential for 600 MW, and Mistral AI will use it from 2027. Microsoft announced SEK 33.7 billion over two years in 2024 for its existing sites at Sandviken, Gävle and Staffanstorp, including about 20,000 GPUs.

Grid context

Svenska kraftnät scenarios for 2050 range widely, which shows how uncertain data centre demand is for grid planning.

Latest changes

  1. Project 16 Mar 2026 Brookfield AI data centre campus (Strängnäs)SVT reports power supply unresolved and other sites under study Related: Brookfield AI data centre campus (Strängnäs). svt.se (opens in a new tab)

All changes

Tracked projects

ProjectLevelStageOperator or developerLatest change
Brookfield AI data centre campus (Strängnäs)campusDelayedBrookfield16 Mar 2026: SVT reports power supply unresolved and other sites under study
EcoDataCenter 2 campus (Kvarnsveden, Borlänge)campusUnder constructionEcoDataCenternot disclosed
Microsoft Sweden Central data centres (Gävle, Sandviken, Staffanstorp)campusOperatingMicrosoftnot disclosed

Filter all projects by Sweden

Capacity in tracked public coverage

Tracked public coverage, not a national total. Sums of reported, project-level figures from 0 of the 3 published project records we track for Sweden. Each metric and each delivery class is summed on its own and never added to another. Confirmed operating capacity never includes design or ultimate capacity. Delayed projects are never counted as under construction now. Campus and phase figures are not double counted. Ranges and upper bounds are not summed. Unknown values are not counted as zero.

None of the tracked project records for Sweden has a figure that can be summed yet. Figures with an unclear basis and undisclosed values are never added. Each project page lists its reported figures as published. Not disclosed is not zero.

Figures not counted (5) and why

Method: capacity rules. Company-wide investment, area figures and third-party market estimates are never included in these sums.

Hyperscaler and AI cloud activity in Sweden

3 tracked projects in Sweden, of which 2 involve a hyperscaler or AI cloud as owner, operator, developer or a stated or reported tenant. Part of the Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region on the hyperscaler and cloud hub.

Hyperscaler and AI cloud projects in Sweden
ProjectStageOperator, developer or ownerHyperscaler or AI tenantAnnouncedExpected
EcoDataCenter 2 campus (Kvarnsveden, Borlänge)
Dalarna
Under constructionEcoDataCenterMistral AI (officially stated)not stated2027
Microsoft Sweden Central data centres (Gävle, Sandviken, Staffanstorp)
Gävleborg and Skåne
OperatingMicrosoftnot stated2024-06-03not stated

Capacity, forecasts and market share: Sweden

Every number is shown as published, with its basis, date and source. Figures with different bases (IT power, grid connection, electricity use) or from different sources are never added or blended. Where no figure exists we say not publicly reported. CoolPower makes no forecasts of its own.

Current capacity and pipeline

Current capacity and pipeline, Sweden
FigureWhat it measuresStatePeriod or as ofSource
about 3 TWh
Official source
Electricity use
Data centre electricity use in Sweden, Svenska kraftnät
Source statement (paraphrased): "data centres about 3 TWh today"
Operationaltoday (as stated in the 2026 analysis)Svenska kraftnät (opens in a new tab)
Published 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.

Forecasts and scenarios

Published forecasts, Sweden
FigureWhat it measuresPeriod or as ofSource
41 TWh
Scenario
Electricity use
Scenario: High electrification scenarios (HP and HF)
Svenska kraftnät long-term scenario for data centre electricity use
Source statement (paraphrased): "41 TWh in 2050 (HP and HF)"
2050Svenska kraftnät (opens in a new tab)
Published 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.
27 TWh
Scenario
Electricity use
Scenario: Middle scenario (MM)
Svenska kraftnät long-term scenario for data centre electricity use
Source statement (paraphrased): "27 TWh in 2050 (MM)"
2050Svenska kraftnät (opens in a new tab)
Published 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.
9 TWh
Scenario
Electricity use
Scenario: Low scenario (LF)
Svenska kraftnät long-term scenario for data centre electricity use
Source statement (paraphrased): "9 TWh in 2050 (LF)"
2050Svenska kraftnät (opens in a new tab)
Published 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.

Forecasts and scenarios are shown side by side and never averaged.

Svenska kraftnät, Operational, today (as stated in the 2026 analysis): about 3 TWh. Svenska kraftnät, scenario, 2050: 41 TWh. Svenska kraftnät, scenario, 2050: 27 TWh. Svenska kraftnät, scenario, 2050: 9 TWh. Bars are separate published figures and are not added together.Svenska kraftnät: Electricity use, operational, today (as stated in the 2026 analysis)about 3 TWhSvenska kraftnät: Electricity use, scenario, 205041 TWhSvenska kraftnät: Electricity use, scenario, 205027 TWhSvenska kraftnät: Electricity use, scenario, 20509 TWh
TWh. Solid bars: current. Lighter bars: pipeline. Dashed outline bars: forecasts or scenarios. A range is drawn from its low to its high end. The data table is above.

Cloud market share

Provider market share: not publicly reported. No public provider market share by country was found except mainland China (Omdia via DCD). Every other country page shows not publicly reported.

Download these 4 figures as CSV All market figures (CSV)

Cloud regions in Sweden

A cloud region is a provider's service area. It is not a data centre campus and has no MW figure here.

No cloud regions recorded.

Policy timeline

No policy records published.

Operators and developers

Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.