Market profile
France
In France RTE signed an accelerated connection contract in January 2026 for the Campus IA site at Fouju, with 240 MW by the end of 2027 and 700 MW before the end of 2029. Some announced projects have also been withdrawn, such as Fluidstack in March 2026.
- Tracked project records
- 4
- Policy records
- 0
- Cloud regions
- 0
- Last checked
- 19 Oct 2026
Overview
At Cambrai, Data4 and Brookfield are developing the e-Valley campus on a former air base, described in 2025 as at least 300 MW in the short term with an ambition of 1 GW. South of Paris, Mistral AI raised USD 830 million of debt for a 44 MW GPU cluster at an Eclairion site in Bruyères-le-Châtel, though sources differ on whether it is running.
Grid context
RTE offers fast-track connections for large data centre sites. National data centre demand figures in the RTE outlook could not be verified as text for this release.
Latest changes
- Project 19 Oct 2026 Data4 and Brookfield e-Valley AI campus (Cambrai, former Air Base 103)Second land approval reported Third-party reported Related: Data4 and Brookfield e-Valley AI campus (Cambrai, former Air Base 103). dcmag.fr (opens in a new tab)
- Project 20 Mar 2026 Fluidstack AI data centre at Bosquel Business Park (withdrawn)Fluidstack reported to withdraw from French projects Third-party reported Related: Fluidstack AI data centre at Bosquel Business Park (withdrawn). datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab)
Tracked projects
| Project | Level | Stage | Operator or developer | Latest change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Campus IA (Fouju, Seine-et-Marne) | campus | Planning | Campus IA | not disclosed |
| Data4 and Brookfield e-Valley AI campus (Cambrai, former Air Base 103) | campus | Planning | Data4, Brookfield | 19 Oct 2026: Second land approval reported |
| Fluidstack AI data centre at Bosquel Business Park (withdrawn) | campus | Cancelled | 20 Mar 2026: Fluidstack reported to withdraw from French projects | |
| Mistral AI compute cluster at Eclairion (Bruyères-le-Châtel, Essonne) | campus | Under construction | Eclairion | not disclosed |
Capacity in tracked public coverage
Tracked public coverage, not a national total. Sums of reported, project-level figures from 0 of the 4 published project records we track for France. Each metric and each delivery class is summed on its own and never added to another. Confirmed operating capacity never includes design or ultimate capacity. Delayed projects are never counted as under construction now. Campus and phase figures are not double counted. Ranges and upper bounds are not summed. Unknown values are not counted as zero.
None of the tracked project records for France has a figure that can be summed yet. Figures with an unclear basis and undisclosed values are never added. Each project page lists its reported figures as published. Not disclosed is not zero.
Figures not counted (6) and why
- Campus IA (Fouju, Seine-et-Marne)
- Grid connection 240 MW: Marked not summable by research: Grid connection power from RTE, first step
- Grid connection 700 MW: Marked not summable by research: Grid connection power from RTE, second step as stated (not added to the first)
- Data4 and Brookfield e-Valley AI campus (Cambrai, former Air Base 103)
- Other at least 300 MW: Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed.
- Other up to 1,000 MW: Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed.
- Investment about EUR 10 billion: Marked not summable by research: EUR billions over five to ten years as described in June 2026
- Mistral AI compute cluster at Eclairion (Bruyères-le-Châtel, Essonne)
- Other 44 MW: Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed.
Method: capacity rules. Company-wide investment, area figures and third-party market estimates are never included in these sums.
Hyperscaler and AI cloud activity in France
4 tracked projects in France, of which 2 involve a hyperscaler or AI cloud as owner, operator, developer or a stated or reported tenant. Part of the Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region on the hyperscaler and cloud hub.
| Project | Stage | Operator, developer or owner | Hyperscaler or AI tenant | Announced | Expected |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fluidstack AI data centre at Bosquel Business Park (withdrawn) Somme (Hauts-de-France) | Cancelled | not disclosed | Fluidstack (reported) | not stated | not stated |
| Mistral AI compute cluster at Eclairion (Bruyères-le-Châtel, Essonne) Île-de-France | Under construction Disputed | Eclairion | Mistral AI (reported) | not stated | 2026-06 |
Capacity, forecasts and market share: France
Every number is shown as published, with its basis, date and source. Figures with different bases (IT power, grid connection, electricity use) or from different sources are never added or blended. Where no figure exists we say not publicly reported. CoolPower makes no forecasts of its own.
Current capacity and pipeline
| Figure | What it measures | State | Period or as of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 240 MW Official source | Grid connection First power step in the RTE accelerated connection contract for the Campus IA site at Fouju (single project, not national capacity) Source statement (paraphrased): "un premier palier de puissance de 240 MW d’ici fin 2027" | Contracted or granted | by end 2027 | RTE (opens in a new tab) Published 22 Jan 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026. |
| 700 MW Official source | Grid connection Second power step for the same Campus IA connection (700 MW is the second step as stated, not added to the 240 MW here) Source statement (paraphrased): "un second palier de 700 MW avant fin 2029" | Contracted or granted | before end 2029 | RTE (opens in a new tab) Published 22 Jan 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026. |
Forecasts and scenarios
Forecast: not publicly reported by a named publisher in a source we could check.
Cloud market share
Provider market share: not publicly reported. No public provider market share by country was found except mainland China (Omdia via DCD). Every other country page shows not publicly reported.
Cloud regions in France
A cloud region is a provider's service area. It is not a data centre campus and has no MW figure here.
No cloud regions recorded.
Policy timeline
No policy records published.
Operators and developers
- Campus IA Developer
- Fluidstack AI cloud
- Eclairion Colocation owner, Colocation operator
- Mistral AI Occupier
- Data4 Colocation owner, Colocation operator, Developer
- Brookfield Investor, Developer
Sources (4), last checked 19 Oct 2026
- Campus IA et RTE: contrat de raccordement accéléré (press release) (opens in a new tab), RTE, published 22 Jan 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
- Fluidstack drops data center projects in France to focus on US (report) (opens in a new tab), DatacenterDynamics, published 20 Mar 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
- Cambrai : le méga data center e-Valley de Data4 et Brookfield reçoit un second feu vert foncier (opens in a new tab), DCmag, published 19 Oct 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
- Mistral AI raises $830m in debt financing for data center in Paris, France (opens in a new tab), DatacenterDynamics, published 30 Mar 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.