Project record, campus
SoftBank AI data centre at the former Sharp Sakai plant (Osaka)
SoftBank and Sharp signed an MoU in June 2024 to build a large AI data centre on about 440,000 sq m of the Sharp Sakai LCD plant site. SoftBank planned power capacity of over 150 MW, full operation in 2025 and later growth to over 400 MW. Status after the MoU was not rechecked for this record. SoftBank targeted the start of construction around autumn 2024.
Reported figures
| Figure | What it measures | Delivery state | Scope and date | Used in totals | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| at least 150 MW Official source Lower bound | Otherbasis unclear Initial power capacity, basis not stated Source wording: "power capacity of over 150 megawatts" | Planned Stage stated in source: Announced | campus 7 Jun 2024 | No. Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed. | softbank.jp (opens in a new tab) |
| at least 400 MW Official source Lower bound | Otherbasis unclear Future power capacity, basis not stated Source wording: "increase to over 400 megawatts in the future" | Planned Stage stated in source: Announced | campus 7 Jun 2024 | No. Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed. | softbank.jp (opens in a new tab) |
Each figure is shown as reported, with its own definition. IT, facility, grid and thermal figures are never added together. Capacity definitions.
Sources (1), last checked 19 Oct 2026
- SoftBank and Sharp MoU on a large-scale AI data center at the Sharp Sakai Plant (opens in a new tab), SoftBank Corp., published 7 Jun 2024, accessed 19 Oct 2026
Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.