Market profile

Brazil

In Brazil the system operator ONS accepted 7,040 MW of data centre access requests by February 2026, while total requests reached 38 GW by June 2026. Large projects at Pecém and Eldorado do Sul face environmental and power questions.

Tracked project records
2
Policy records
0
Cloud regions
0
Last checked
19 Oct 2026

Projects in Brazil Policy timeline

Overview

At Pecém in Ceará, Omnia is building a data centre with 300 MW of planned installed power, and federal prosecutors went to court in September 2026 to stop it operating before an environmental study and consultation with the Anacé people. In Rio Grande do Sul, Scala pitched an AI City campus of up to 4.75 GW, starting with a 54 MW data centre.

Grid context

Grid connection requests far exceed operational capacity. Accepted requests and total requests are different pools and are shown separately.

Latest changes

  1. Project 10 Sept 2026 Omnia data centre at the Pecém complex (Caucaia, Ceará)Prosecutors seek to block operation pending impact study Related: Omnia data centre at the Pecém complex (Caucaia, Ceará). mpf.mp.br (opens in a new tab)

All changes

Tracked projects

ProjectLevelStageOperator or developerLatest change
Omnia data centre at the Pecém complex (Caucaia, Ceará)campusUnder constructionOmnia10 Sept 2026: Prosecutors seek to block operation pending impact study
Scala AI City (Eldorado do Sul)campusAnnouncedScala Data Centersnot disclosed

Filter all projects by Brazil

Capacity in tracked public coverage

Tracked public coverage, not a national total. Sums of reported, project-level figures from 0 of the 2 published project records we track for Brazil. Each metric and each delivery class is summed on its own and never added to another. Confirmed operating capacity never includes design or ultimate capacity. Delayed projects are never counted as under construction now. Campus and phase figures are not double counted. Ranges and upper bounds are not summed. Unknown values are not counted as zero.

None of the tracked project records for Brazil has a figure that can be summed yet. Figures with an unclear basis and undisclosed values are never added. Each project page lists its reported figures as published. Not disclosed is not zero.

Figures not counted (3) and why

Method: capacity rules. Company-wide investment, area figures and third-party market estimates are never included in these sums.

Hyperscaler and AI cloud activity in Brazil

2 tracked projects in Brazil, of which 0 involve a hyperscaler or AI cloud as owner, operator, developer or a stated or reported tenant. Part of the Americas region on the hyperscaler and cloud hub.

Capacity, forecasts and market share: Brazil

Every number is shown as published, with its basis, date and source. Figures with different bases (IT power, grid connection, electricity use) or from different sources are never added or blended. Where no figure exists we say not publicly reported. CoolPower makes no forecasts of its own.

Current capacity and pipeline

Current capacity and pipeline, Brazil
FigureWhat it measuresStatePeriod or as ofSource
7,040 MW
Third-party reported
Grid requests
Data centre access requests to the basic grid accepted by the system operator ONS
Source statement (paraphrased): "ONS aceita solicitações de acesso de 7 GW de data centers"
Requested2026-02-03pv magazine Brasil (opens in a new tab)
Published 3 Feb 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.
38 GW
Third-party reported
Grid requests
Total data centre grid connection requests (a wider pool than the accepted requests above)
Source statement (paraphrased): "Brazil reaches 38GW in data center connection requests"
Requested2026-06-02BNamericas (opens in a new tab)
Published 2 Jun 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.

Sources measure different things (for example colocation only, grid requests or contracted connections), so they are listed side by side.

Forecasts and scenarios

Forecast: not publicly reported by a named publisher in a source we could check.

pv magazine Brasil, Requested, 2026-02-03: 7,040 MW. Bars are separate published figures and are not added together.pv magazine Brasil: Grid requests, requested, 2026-02-037,040 MW
MW. Solid bars: current. Lighter bars: pipeline. Dashed outline bars: forecasts or scenarios. A range is drawn from its low to its high end. The data table is above.
BNamericas, Requested, 2026-06-02: 38 GW. Bars are separate published figures and are not added together.BNamericas: Grid requests, requested, 2026-06-0238 GW
GW. Solid bars: current. Lighter bars: pipeline. Dashed outline bars: forecasts or scenarios. A range is drawn from its low to its high end. The data table is above.

Cloud market share

Provider market share: not publicly reported. No public provider market share by country was found except mainland China (Omdia via DCD). Every other country page shows not publicly reported.

Download these 2 figures as CSV All market figures (CSV)

Cloud regions in Brazil

A cloud region is a provider's service area. It is not a data centre campus and has no MW figure here.

No cloud regions recorded.

Policy timeline

No policy records published.

Operators and developers

Sources (4), last checked 19 Oct 2026
  1. ONS aceita solicitações de acesso à rede básica de 7 GW de data centers (opens in a new tab), pv magazine Brasil, published 3 Feb 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  2. Brazil reaches 38GW in data center connection requests (opens in a new tab), BNamericas, published 2 Jun 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  3. Scala AI City: Scala pitches $50bn Brazil data center campus of up to 4.7GW (opens in a new tab), DatacenterDynamics, published 11 Sept 2024, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  4. MPF e DPU vão à Justiça para impedir operação de data center no Complexo do Pecém (opens in a new tab), Ministério Público Federal (Ceará), published 10 Sept 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026

Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.