Market profile

Spain

In Spain SpainDC counts 439 MW of installed colocation and hyperscale IT power at the end of 2025 and sees up to 2,537 MW by 2030. Red Eléctrica reported in October 2026 that it had granted 6,329 MW of grid access to data centres, none of it in service yet.

Tracked project records
4
Policy records
0
Cloud regions
1
Last checked
19 Oct 2026

Projects in Spain Policy timeline

Overview

In Aragón the regional government gave initial approval in November 2025 to Microsoft plans for three campuses worth more than EUR 5,300 million, and partial final approval in September 2026 to the QTS Rhodes campus at Calatorao, reported at up to EUR 13,471 million with 650 MW of electrical capacity in its first phase.

Grid context

Red Eléctrica grid access grants to data centres are much larger than installed capacity, which shows the gap between permits and delivery.

Latest changes

  1. Project 30 Sept 2026 QTS Proyecto Rhodes data centre campus (Calatorao, Zaragoza)Partial final approval of the general interest plan Related: QTS Proyecto Rhodes data centre campus (Calatorao, Zaragoza). europapress.es (opens in a new tab)
  2. Project 11 Aug 2026 Meta data centre campus (Talavera de la Reina)Regional government approves land reparcelling Related: Meta data centre campus (Talavera de la Reina). castillalamancha.es (opens in a new tab)

All changes

Tracked projects

ProjectLevelStageOperator or developerLatest change
AWS Europe (Spain) Region data centres in Aragón (investment programme)projectAnnouncedAmazon Web Services (AWS)not disclosed
Meta data centre campus (Talavera de la Reina)campusPlanningMeta Platforms11 Aug 2026: Regional government approves land reparcelling
Microsoft data centre campuses in Aragón (La Muela, Villamayor de Gállego, Zaragoza)campusPlanningMicrosoftnot disclosed
QTS Proyecto Rhodes data centre campus (Calatorao, Zaragoza)campusPermittedQTS Data Centers30 Sept 2026: Partial final approval of the general interest plan

Filter all projects by Spain

Capacity in tracked public coverage

Tracked public coverage, not a national total. Sums of reported, project-level figures from 0 of the 4 published project records we track for Spain. Each metric and each delivery class is summed on its own and never added to another. Confirmed operating capacity never includes design or ultimate capacity. Delayed projects are never counted as under construction now. Campus and phase figures are not double counted. Ranges and upper bounds are not summed. Unknown values are not counted as zero.

None of the tracked project records for Spain has a figure that can be summed yet. Figures with an unclear basis and undisclosed values are never added. Each project page lists its reported figures as published. Not disclosed is not zero.

Figures not counted (5) and why

Method: capacity rules. Company-wide investment, area figures and third-party market estimates are never included in these sums.

Hyperscaler and AI cloud activity in Spain

4 tracked projects in Spain, of which 3 involve a hyperscaler or AI cloud as owner, operator, developer or a stated or reported tenant. Part of the Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region on the hyperscaler and cloud hub.

Hyperscaler and AI cloud projects in Spain
ProjectStageOperator, developer or ownerHyperscaler or AI tenantAnnouncedExpected
AWS Europe (Spain) Region data centres in Aragón (investment programme)
Aragón
AnnouncedAmazon Web Services (AWS)not stated2026-03not stated
Meta data centre campus (Talavera de la Reina)
Castilla-La Mancha
PlanningMeta Platformsnot statednot statednot stated
Microsoft data centre campuses in Aragón (La Muela, Villamayor de Gállego, Zaragoza)
Aragón
PlanningMicrosoftnot stated2025-11-14not stated

Capacity, forecasts and market share: Spain

Every number is shown as published, with its basis, date and source. Figures with different bases (IT power, grid connection, electricity use) or from different sources are never added or blended. Where no figure exists we say not publicly reported. CoolPower makes no forecasts of its own.

Current capacity and pipeline

Current capacity and pipeline, Spain
FigureWhat it measuresStatePeriod or as ofSource
439 MW
Third-party reported
IT power
Installed IT power of colocation and hyperscale data centres
Source statement (paraphrased): "439 MW IT instalados"
Operational2025-12-31SpainDC (opens in a new tab)
Published Sept 2025. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.
6,329 MW
Official source
Grid connection
Grid access capacity granted to data centres by Red Eléctrica, none of it yet in service
Source statement (paraphrased): "6.329 MW de acceso concedido a centros de datos"
Contracted or granted2026-10Red Eléctrica (opens in a new tab)
Published Oct 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.

Sources measure different things (for example colocation only, grid requests or contracted connections), so they are listed side by side.

Forecasts and scenarios

Published forecasts, Spain
FigureWhat it measuresPeriod or as ofSource
2,537 MW
Forecast
IT power
SpainDC projection of possible installed IT power
Source statement (paraphrased): "hasta 2.537 MW en 2030"
2030SpainDC (opens in a new tab)
Published Sept 2025. Accessed 19 Oct 2026.
SpainDC, Operational, 2025-12-31: 439 MW. SpainDC, forecast, 2030: 2,537 MW. Red Eléctrica, Contracted or granted, 2026-10: 6,329 MW. Bars are separate published figures and are not added together.SpainDC: IT power, operational, 2025-12-31439 MWSpainDC: IT power, forecast, 20302,537 MWRed Eléctrica: Grid connection, contracted or granted, 2026-106,329 MW
MW. Solid bars: current. Lighter bars: pipeline. Dashed outline bars: forecasts or scenarios. A range is drawn from its low to its high end. The data table is above.

Cloud market share

Provider market share: not publicly reported. No public provider market share by country was found except mainland China (Omdia via DCD). Every other country page shows not publicly reported.

Download these 3 figures as CSV All market figures (CSV)

Cloud regions in Spain

A cloud region is a provider's service area. It is not a data centre campus and has no MW figure here.

Policy timeline

No policy records published.

Operators and developers

Sources (7), last checked 19 Oct 2026
  1. Informe anual 2025 (opens in a new tab), SpainDC, published 2025-09, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  2. Mapa de capacidades de acceso para demanda (press note) (opens in a new tab), Red Eléctrica, published 2026-10, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  3. Amazon increases investment in Spain to EUR 33.7 billion (opens in a new tab), About Amazon, published 2026-03, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  4. El Gobierno regional aprueba definitivamente la reparcelación del PSI del futuro campus de centros de datos de Meta en Talavera de la Reina (opens in a new tab), Junta de Comunidades de Castilla-La Mancha, published 11 Aug 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  5. Aprobado inicialmente el PIGA de Microsoft para la instalación de tres centros de datos en Aragón (opens in a new tab), Gobierno de Aragón (Aragón Hoy), published 14 Nov 2025, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  6. El Gobierno de Aragón aprueba el PIGA de Rhodes y avisa de que el Real Decreto de centros de datos lo puede frenar (opens in a new tab), Europa Press, published 30 Sept 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
  7. Luz verde a las obras para el campus de centros de datos de Blackstone en Calatorao (opens in a new tab), elDiario.es Aragón, published 30 Sept 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026

Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.