Market profile
Australia
In Australia AEMO reports that about 165 data centres used about 5 TWh in FY2026, around 3% of operational consumption in the National Electricity Market, and expects strong growth. NEXTDC has applied for a 612 MW campus at Eastern Creek.
- Tracked project records
- 1
- Policy records
- 0
- Cloud regions
- 0
- Last checked
- 19 Oct 2026
Overview
The NEXTDC S7 application on the NSW Planning Portal describes three two-storey buildings at Eastern Creek with an operational capacity of 612 MW and 340 backup diesel generators. It is a state significant development and was still in planning when checked.
Grid context
AEMO models data centre demand in its 2026 ESOO. The forecast values are shown in charts and are not repeated here.
Tracked projects
| Project | Level | Stage | Operator or developer | Latest change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NEXTDC S7 data centre (Eastern Creek, Sydney) | campus | Planning | NEXTDC | not disclosed |
Capacity in tracked public coverage
Tracked public coverage, not a national total. Sums of reported, project-level figures from 0 of the 1 published project record we track for Australia. Each metric and each delivery class is summed on its own and never added to another. Confirmed operating capacity never includes design or ultimate capacity. Delayed projects are never counted as under construction now. Campus and phase figures are not double counted. Ranges and upper bounds are not summed. Unknown values are not counted as zero.
None of the tracked project records for Australia has a figure that can be summed yet. Figures with an unclear basis and undisclosed values are never added. Each project page lists its reported figures as published. Not disclosed is not zero.
Figures not counted (1) and why
- NEXTDC S7 data centre (Eastern Creek, Sydney)
- Other 612 MW: Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed.
Method: capacity rules. Company-wide investment, area figures and third-party market estimates are never included in these sums.
Hyperscaler and AI cloud activity in Australia
1 tracked project in Australia, of which 0 involve a hyperscaler or AI cloud as owner, operator, developer or a stated or reported tenant. Part of the Asia Pacific (APAC) region on the hyperscaler and cloud hub.
Capacity, forecasts and market share: Australia
Every number is shown as published, with its basis, date and source. Figures with different bases (IT power, grid connection, electricity use) or from different sources are never added or blended. Where no figure exists we say not publicly reported. CoolPower makes no forecasts of its own.
Current capacity and pipeline
| Figure | What it measures | State | Period or as of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| about 5 TWh Official source | Electricity use Electricity consumed by about 165 data centres in the National Electricity Market, about 3% of NEM operational consumption Source statement (paraphrased): "around 165 data centres consumed approximately 5 TWh in FY2026" | Operational | FY2026 | Australian Energy Market Operator (opens in a new tab) Published 2026. Accessed 19 Oct 2026. |
Forecasts and scenarios
Forecast: not publicly reported by a named publisher in a source we could check.
Cloud market share
Provider market share: not publicly reported. No public provider market share by country was found except mainland China (Omdia via DCD). Every other country page shows not publicly reported.
Cloud regions in Australia
A cloud region is a provider's service area. It is not a data centre campus and has no MW figure here.
No cloud regions recorded.
Policy timeline
No policy records published.
Operators and developers
- NEXTDC Colocation owner, Colocation operator
Sources (2), last checked 19 Oct 2026
- 2026 ESOO data centre forecasting overview (opens in a new tab), Australian Energy Market Operator, published 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
- NEXTDC S7 data centre, Eastern Creek (SSD-113934740) (opens in a new tab), NSW Planning Portal, accessed 19 Oct 2026
Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.