Project record, phase

QTS Cambois campus phase 1 (two data halls)

PermittedUnited KingdomNorthumberland, England

First of five construction phases at the QTS Cambois campus near Blyth. Northumberland County Council's strategic planning committee unanimously approved reserved matters for two data halls and associated works (access roads, landscaping, security) on 2 December 2025. Each hall is reported at about 34 m tall with eight electricity lines and 55 diesel generators for backup. Capacity and opening date for this phase are not disclosed in the sources reviewed.

Part of QTS Cambois data centre campus (Blyth, Northumberland). Capacity roll-ups count the parent figure and do not add this record again.

Reported figures

No figures are published for this record. Not disclosed is not zero.

Each figure is shown as reported, with its own definition. IT, facility, grid and thermal figures are never added together. Capacity definitions.

Power and grid

Eight separate electricity lines and 55 diesel-powered generators per data hall reported. bbc.co.uk (opens in a new tab)

What changed

  1. 2 Dec 2025 QTS Cambois data centre campus (Blyth, Northumberland)Phase 1 reserved matters (two data halls) approved Related: QTS Cambois data centre campus (Blyth, Northumberland). bbc.co.uk (opens in a new tab)
Sources (1), last checked 18 Oct 2026
  1. Blyth data centre first phase works given go-ahead (opens in a new tab), BBC News (Local Democracy Reporting Service), published 2 Dec 2025, accessed 18 Oct 2026

Last checked 18 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.