Project record, campus
Microsoft and G42 geothermal data centre (Olkaria)
Data centre proposed by Microsoft and G42 in May 2024 at Olkaria, with USD 1 billion of investment and an initial 100 MW powered by geothermal energy. DCD reported in May 2026 that it had stalled for lack of grid capacity, with President Ruto saying its 1 GW scale would be a third of national supply. Kenya's tech envoy said on 9 May 2026 that reports of a suspension were incorrect. Status is therefore disputed.
Reported figures
| Figure | What it measures | Delivery state | Scope and date | Used in totals | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 MW Disputed | Otherbasis unclear Initial phase, MW basis not stated Source wording: "target an initial 100MW of capacity powered by geothermal energy" | Planned Stage stated in source: Announced | campus 7 May 2026 | No. Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed. | datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) |
| 1 GW Disputed | Otherbasis unclear Full scale as cited from the President, basis not stated Source wording: "proposed data centre 1GW capacity" | Planned Stage stated in source: Announced | campus 7 May 2026 | No. Basis unclear (not stated as IT, facility, grid or thermal). Never summed. | datacenterdynamics.com (opens in a new tab) |
Each figure is shown as reported, with its own definition. IT, facility, grid and thermal figures are never added together. Capacity definitions.
Power and grid
Geothermal power planned. Kenya's installed capacity is about 3,000 MW and the President said the data centre would need about a third of it. kbc.co.ke (opens in a new tab)
What changed
- 9 May 2026 Government says reports of suspension are incorrect kbc.co.ke (opens in a new tab)
Sources (2), last checked 19 Oct 2026
- Microsoft and G42 data center in Kenya stalled due to lack of power capacity (opens in a new tab), DatacenterDynamics, published 7 May 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
- Kenya clarifies status of $1 billion Microsoft-G42 data centre project (opens in a new tab), Kenya Broadcasting Corporation, published 9 May 2026, accessed 19 Oct 2026
Last checked 19 Oct 2026 by CoolPower Index research (automated, sourced). Report a correction.